Famous Masons

Many men throughout history have been members of our fraternity.

In these pages we will present you with them and try to impress upon you the great men that have been Masons.

Famous Mason Categories
Alphabetical ListArticles of ConfederationAstronautsBusinessmenEntertainersExplorers and FrontiersmenGovernorsMilitary Leaders
PoliticianPresidentsSenatorSigner Declaration of IndependenceSportsSupreme Court JusticeUS Constitution

Photo of Samuel Jon Hornish Jr.

Samuel Hornish Jr.

2006 Indianapolis 500 Champion
Birthday: July 2, 1979


American auto racing driver. He currently competes in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, driving the No. 9 Ford Fusion for Richard Petty Motorsports. Hornish first competed in the World Karting Association. Hornish begin to compete the U.S. F2000 National Championship in 1996 and the Atlantic Championship in 1999. Hornish began to compete in the Verizon IndyCar Series in 2000 for PDM Racing. Hornish began to compete for Panther Racing the following season and won 11 races during the next three seasons with Panther and won the 2001 and 2002. In 2004 Hornish began to drive for Team Penske and would win 8 more races, including the Indianapolis 500 in 2006, would win the 2006 series championship. At the time of his departure from the series after the 2007 season, Hornish had the record for the most wins in the series with 19 wins (Scott Dixon broke the record in 2009. Hornish was the final American to win the series championship until Ryan Hunter-Reay won in 2012 and the final American to win the Indianapolis 500 until Hunter-Reay won in 2014. Hornish was also the final driver to win the series championship for Team Penske until Will Power won in 2014.